Today’s Memory: Ashes. Everywhere.

Sometimes I dread the sound of children’s laughter.  Like, last night, when my two year old and four year old got bored with the movie we were watching and went to play, presumably with their dollies, in the living room.

I knew I was in trouble when I heard the peals of laughter. My two year old had emptied the entire ash bucket out on the couch and floor. The living room was shrouded in grey dust.  We stopped the movie, sent children to bed, and swept and swept and swept.  My husband suggested having the kids wash the floor with wet rags in the morning.

The morning light showed a mess even worse then I had remembered going to bed. I swept some more, then got the kids to help me clean the floor with wet rags. This soon turned into a water fight. I mopped, but as the water dried ,the living room is still coated in grey dust. I took a deep breathe and tried to keep in mind a devotional had had read recently on the first 3 verses in Colossians about being thankful for the people in my life.  Anyway- No time to cry over spilled ashes- there was a baby to feed, breakfast dishes to wash, and our friend A was on his way over for school.  And you know what? it is still dirty. and I am ok with it. There was no great epiphany- just a quiet day lived with little people who are being conformed to the image of Christ, and maybe a small realization that dirt grows things.

Today’s verse: Collosians 1:3-4 We give thanks to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, praying always for you, since we heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and of your love for all the saints

What we did today:

Review question 1 of Heidlburg Catechism

Listen to Acts: from Stephan to Cornelius

Review Psalm 2 – Gracie and A wrote it out

Math: A-logic problems, G- subtraction flashcards, M workbook

Reading

Nature Study: A watched a video on the Aster family and took notes, G and M found a caterpillar and watched it.

chores and play

Links of the day:

Four year old  Maggie uses these two resources to help with reading

http://www.progressivephonics.com

and the Websters Speller from donpotter.net

 

One thought on “Beautiful Dirt

  1. I Love reading your words! My heart smiles that you are taking time to remember, and that you don’t have a 3 step process for getting ash coating off of everything…yet! Love your ability to rest in the mess and to see what will rise from the ashes. Write on, Sister!

Leave a Reply

