My beloved husband randomly decided to bless me with some matching stainless steel pots and pans. (Ok, so maybe there was a mini meltdown about the lack of a Mothers Day gift involved) Anyway, previously I had inherited all the pots and pans that were here when we married. They were functional, but not pretty or matching. These were beautiful, shiny and new.
I quickly loaded up my old pots and pans into a box for Goodwill, along with anything else I was not using. I kept my cookie sheets. They get a lot of use. They are black, but well loved.
I saw a tip on facebook about getting that burnt blackness off of anything with peroxide and baking soda. My gleaming pots inspired me: I would try to clean the cookie sheets. The first time I tried, after much scrubbing, they only looked slightly different. The next time a little bit more came off. Currently, I can see some of the gleaming surface beneath the burnt places.
That is sorta where my life is right now. Lots of hard work, just starting to see small results. After years spent getting the basic repairs done on our home, we are finally approaching a point where we are making the space fully functional (beautiful is still about 5-10 years out) . Working on getting things organized. The children have made progress in school. I am feeling a little more on par with the whole homemaking/meal planning thing. Layer by layer the gleam is starting to show through.

* as I was reading this to my husband, he added a note in his defense: I was planning on getting you those pots and pans for months. I just failed to mention it.

One thought on “My Life as a Cookie Sheet

  1. Love πŸ™‚ It does help when we just tell our husbands exactly what we need πŸ™‚ In my own case, the meltdowns tended to be the only time I would do this–but over the years with the work of the Holy Spirit, the meltdowns are much fewer and the sane conversations more! The cookie sheet can get cleaner–it can get shinier-but it is hard work and messy in the process πŸ™‚ Keep on loving–Keep your eyes on Jesus–It’s worth it πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

