My plan for the day involved a movie, a sparkling clean house, and  newly canned tomato soup lining my cabinets. My reality for the day was runny noses, a not-so-clean house, canning jars stacked neatly in a closet for future use, and children sprawled about the living room.

We had intended to go to the movies to see Mr. Peabody and Sherman this morning, but the kids were somewhat snarfly and sleepy, so we had an at home day instead.  A  friend dropped off 100 canning jars, as was planned. I had great intentions of canning some soup today. However, reality struck again. I realized:  if I want to can, I need lids. To get lids, I must load 4  under the weather children into the car, and do several other errands since I am in town anyway. Thus, the large pot of tomato soup is becoming gulosh for the week. The kids love gulosh, and we could use the vitamin C.

My Mom (who lives with us) and Em (my teen) are both gone for the week. We miss them. It took me a minute to adjust to having less pairs of hands around. I had gotten used to my Mom spending time with the baby every morning and Em helping the girls brush and braid their hair. On the other hand,  It has been nice having time with just the little people, particularly in the evenings. I am getting less “done”, but maybe my time is better spent.

 We’ve been re-watching the kid’s favorite episodes of Dr. Who. We have been working with Annie on her potty training. Learning to milk goats. Trying to be more available for family and friends.  Worked on transitioning back into reasonable bedtime routines. I have been supervising the bedroom clean ups while I read to the kids from “The Silver Chair”. Not what was planned, but sweet, savory moments to remember.

…And I just remembered I was supposed to be at a baby shower tonight. It was planned. One of those errands was Target. But there is a small puddle on the floor and a bare bottomed child running around, a neighbor on her way over for a visit, so I guess we’ll do sweet reality instead and bring a gift to church Sunday.

 

Leave a Reply

