I got up this morning feeling a bit yucky, but I was determined. I got dressed down to my shoes–my righteous shoes–, ran a brush through my hair, and attempted to tackle my to-do list. (I am, after all, a GOOD MOMMY, and Good Mommies wear clothes and shoes, they keep up with the dishes, and they don’t go all day without an encounter with a hair brush)
We did school through my dizziness and sore throat. I made lunch despite a dangerously rumbly tummy. Then the chills hit.
I won’t go into the two hours that followed. I am sitting here in my pajamas, contemplating the possible benefits of an adult diaper. My hair is wet and bedraggled . If I was crazy, or desperate enough to drive in my current state, I could totally make the People of Walmart web site. It took only two miserable hours to go from normal Mommy to People of Walmart Mommy.
And I wonder, what about people struggling with chronic pain, or illness, or depression? What if I had to live every day the way I’ve lived the last two hours. What if it wouldn’t get better with fluids and rest? What if I felt this way, but my kids still needed food and diapers?
What if…?

Leave a comment